IEEE United Arab Emirates Section held its annual Ramadan Iftar gathering 2018 on Monday, June 4th, 2018.  Dr. Essa Basaeed, IEEE UAE Section Chair has welcomed all attendees of both IEEE and WIE UAE sections. In addition, he has distributed the volunteer recognition award during the gathering.

Both the executive committees of 2017 and  2018 have been invited to this gathering. Dr. Fatma Taher,IEEE UAE Section Vice-chair and Eng. Balqees Al Daghar,Women In Engineering UAE Section Chair 2018 were attending as well.

IEEE UAE Section members gather annually for this social occasion. It is a great chance for meeting all members in addition to talk about the section’s achievements and plans.

During this year’s gathering, all members were discussing the achievements of 2018 so far, the future initiatives and activities as well as the plans updates. Additionally, volunteers have raised some issues for finding solutions with other members.

Volunteer Recognition Award

IEEE UAE Section recognizes and values the important role of members as volunteers in order to promote the IEEE objectives in the UAE. It is the continued hard work of the volunteers that makes a Section energetic and beneficial to its members and attracts new members. It is important that these dedicated volunteers are encouraged to be recognized for their contributions. This acknowledgement also serves to promote examples for others to follow.

The Volunteer Recognition Award was distributed during Ramadan Iftar gathering by Dr. Essa Basaeed – IEEE UAE Section Chair.  The members have been awarded for their extraordinary contributions to the section and their innovative ideas and initiatives.

Finally, Dr. Essa has thanked all members for their continuous efforts and encouraged them for more achievements in this year.

Awarded Volunteers

Dr. Essa Bastaki – Honorary Chair and Strategy

Dr. Fatma Taher – Vice-chair

Dr. Mohammed Al-Zaabi – Secretary

Adnan Alrais – Treasurer

Prof. Wathiq Mansoor – Student Activities Chair

Adeel Sultan – Member Activities Chair and Membership Development

Essa Al Suwaidi – Public Relations Chair and Robotics and Automation Chapter Chair

Dr. Nazih Khaddaj Mallat – Technical Activities Chair, Chapter Coordinator, Microwave Theory and Techniques, Instrumentation and Measurements Societies Joint Chapter Chair

Dirine Dhaouadi – Stuent Representatives

Dr. Boutheina Kzadri – Women In Engineering Group Chair

Mohammed Ayoub – Young Professionals Group Chair

Dr. Piyush Maheshwari – Conference Coordinator

Dr. Vishwesh Akre – Educational Activiteis

Dr. Bushra AlBelooshi – Industry Relations Coordinaor

Prof. Hussain Al Ahmad – Nominations and Appointments, Education Society Chapter Chair

Dr. Alavikunhu Panthakkan – Awards and Recognition Chair

Yasser Al Bahandi – Webmaster

Dr. Kamarul Faizal Hashim – Newsletter Editor

Soha Jawabreh – Social Networks Manager

Dr. Hussam Al Hamadi – Project Manager, Teacher-In-Service Program

Dr. Reyad El-Khazali – Circutles and Systems Chapter Chair

Meera Al shamsi – Geo-science and Remote Sensing, Society Chapter Chair

Dr. Hasan Al Nashash – Engineering in Medicine and Biology Chapter Chair

Dr. Sami Muhaidat – Signal Processing and Communication Societies Joint Chapter Chair

Dr. Bashar Zahawi – Power and Energy Chapter Chair

Dr. Lutfi Al Basha – Solid State Circuit Chapter Chair

Dr. Mouza Shmeiaili – Computer Sociecy Chapter Chair

Dr. Khalifa Al Hosani – Power Electroics and Control Societeis Joint Chapter Chair


Dr. Essa Basaeed – IEEE UAE Section Chair is with senior members during Ramadan Iftar 2018 and distributing the Volunteer Recognition Award